Mayor Norris seeks strengthening of “the Commons”

The Charlottesville City Council has held its first meeting of 2008 welcoming newly-elected members Satyendra Huja and Holly Edwards. City Manager Gary O’Connell called the meeting to order as the Council’s first order of business was its biennial organizational meeting in which it elects a Mayor and Vice Mayor to two-year terms.

In his first motions as a new City Councilor, Huja nominated Dave Norris for Mayor and Julian Taliaferro for Vice Mayor. Both were elected unanimously to their new leadership positions.

For more information on Council’s organizational meeting for 2008, visit Charlottesville Tomorrow.